Tags

,

Bryan and I stick to a gluten free diet, but that doesn’t immediately = healthy.

For example, Bryan and I eat a lot of Mexican food these days when we go to out to eat with friends, because we can still eat corn tortillas.

And we have. In large quantities.

Although, come to think of it, that’s not much different than before we went gluten free.

(I’m not entirely sure living outside of the southwestern United States would even be possible for me. Good Mexican food is essential. After a two-week trip in Europe in November/December, my belly filled with all the wonderful tastes of that continent, all I wanted to eat when we got home was Mexican food. No enchiladas or tacos for two weeks definitely set a world record for me.)

Last week, I realized we needed to step up our veggies and fish game, especially when we were eating at home.

Thus, the meal I bring you today.

(Any chance I can use the word thus, I take it.)

You throw everything in a packet of foil, bake in the oven for 20 minutes, and you have a healthy and delicious meal sitting before you.

I took the recipe from here, but you could use this technique for weeks on end and never do the same thing twice, whether that’s the fish you use or the accompaniments.

Oh, and bonus: it’s gluten free and full of omega-3 fatty acids, which is good for everyone, especially people who deal with inflammation problems, like my husband has.

Double bonus: you can’t mess this up.

Ingredients (recipe Gluten Free Goddess):

2 fish filets, about 4 oz. each

4 garlic cloves

1 onion

2 cups baby spinach leaves

Tomatoes (I used cherry tomatoes cut in half)

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

Fresh herbs (I only had parsley on hand, but you could also throw in cilantro, basil or whatever you having lying around!)

Extra virgin olive oil

Preheat your oven to 375°F.

Take a fish your fish filets (I used Alaskan cod) and put each one on its own piece of foil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and squeeze some lemon juice over the top.

Combine the rest of the ingredients in a bowl, and toss with enough extra virgin olive oil to make sure everything is coated lightly.

Pour half the mixture over each fish. Place another piece of foil on top of each filet and close it to make a little packet.

Throw in a roasting pan and place in the oven, and 20 minutes later you have a healthy meal in your own little packet! Throw some rice or quinoa on the side (or on top, like I did in my photo) and you are good to go.

I love recipes that have serious versatility to whatever you have in your pantry that day. You could use bell peppers or you could swap soy sauce and canola oil in the place of balsamic and olive oil.

The possibilities are endless, so give it a shot and see what you combinations you like most!

