Tags

, , , , , ,

Sorry to have left you hanging (all 2.57 of you out there), but I found myself in a busy stretch of family, friends, working late and preacher wife-ing (believe me, it should be a verb).

My laptop barely received a push to turn it on over the last two weeks.

For me, when I have a run of drowning in Excel documents, long meetings at work or long stretches of preacher wife-ing, nothing sounds better than filling a blank page of paper with words. Words that I write. Words that I write because I want to.

Some of you are ninjas and seem to seamlessly balance work, life and writing daily. I wish I was a ninja (for a lot of reasons, obviously). But I’m not.

So even though I planned to post regularly over the last couple of weeks, soaking up life with some of the people I hold dearest in this world stopped me from doing so. I’ll take that trade-off any day.

I’ll get to the good stuff now. Below happens to be one such place that kept me from my laptop when I visited with my mom and my two sisters a couple of weeks ago: the Walt Disney Concert Hall in downtown Los Angeles.

*I am lame and didn't take a photo of the outside of the Walt Disney Concert Hall.This photo is from their website (if you want more info, click link in the paragraph above and it will take you to the LA Philharmonic website).

Most days (check here for exact schedule) from 10-2, you can tour the Walt Disney Concert Hall completely free of charge, and that includes an audio guide narrated by John Lithgow.

Plus, you can walk about a half-mile to the Grand Central Market and get fresh produce, mouth-watering tacos or soul-warming pupusas. Or all of the above.

Culture and tacos for $5 or less. Is this even really a choice?

I digress. Oh yes. The Disney Concert Hall.

The audio guide helps you understand the scope of what goes into the building process, from planning to deciding on carpet to figuring out a way to clean the outside of a stainless steel building. Creating a space that has other-worldly acoustics added another layer of complexity to this building. The photo above is a corner where they do lectures and mini-concerts.

The hall’s rose design pays tribute to Lillian Disney (Walt’s wife) and her favorite flower. I love that even the carpet looks like flowers. Does anyone else want to walk down this staircase in a poofy yellow dress à la Belle in Beauty and the Beast? No, just me?

The thought and detail that went into this building is remarkable. You learn in the audio guide that Frank Gehry—the famous architect who worked on this building—made hid every staircases around the outside of the building from the street. That way, nothing distracts from the aesthetic or design of the building.

I guess that’s why they pay him the big bucks.

Finally, as cool as the inside is (although, the one negative of this tour…you can’t go inside the actual auditorium) the outside has an incredible garden area that is completely free to the public.

I could sit here all day.

Especially with a taco. Or a pupusa. Or, all of the above.

