Tags

, , ,

If delicious gluten free pancakes were impossible to create, Bryan would call this whole thing off.

I’m not sure how much of his love for pancakes is for the pancakes themselves, or just an appreciation for their sacrifice as a vehicle for syrup. It’s a toss up, honestly.

On the Dr. Martin Luther King holiday, we had our first completely free day since we returned home from our Europe trip on December 6. No joke.

And what is essential to do on a slow day? Making pancakes or waffles. Let me rephrase that: making pancakes or waffles in your pajamas.

So, with my red plaid pajamas on, I set out to make some gluten free pancakes.

I found a great recipe here  at Lynn’s Recipe Adventures and decided to give it a shot.

Finding the right combination of alternative flours to mimic the taste and texture of all purpose flour presents the toughest challenge of gluten free baking. I have learned that quickly. Finding out what works and what doesn’t takes a lot of trial and error.

For now, I’ll stick to the ratios other people tell me to use. This batter called for brown rice flour, white rice flour, potato starch, tapioca starch, baking soda, baking powder and xanthan gum.

That’s a long list, but this batter is simple and does not even make you separate wet and dry ingredients. You just throw them all in one bowl and get your griddle ready. My kind of recipe.

Despite my lack of being able to make anything pretty, as you can see by my photo, the pancakes were delicious. They tasted much lighter than normal pancakes and tasted sweeter.

Two weeks into gluten free eating, and Bryan is quite happy that he can have pancakes and eat them too.

Victory.

 

