Tags

When it comes to rest, my baby cousin said it best.

About 10 years ago, she was around 3 or 4 years old; just old enough to really string sentences together. If she happened to be at my parents’ house around her bedtime, she’d start to get really whiny. She’d rub her eyes a lot, and seem really frustrated. We’d try to get her to lie down, but she refused. Her response was always the same:

“I just want to go home to my own bed.”

As I approach my 28th birthday, I think I finally know exactly what she meant.

Sure, vacations are great. This time a month ago, I spent my day lying around a hotel pool in Kona, Hawaii with my husband. It was glorious and oh-so relaxing. But as it turns out, nothing recharges me like some time at home. You know, in my own bed.

My weekend gave me that opportunity and I feel better than I’ve felt in weeks.

A few months ago, my husband preached a sermon series on the Sabbath, and it remains one of my favorites that he’s preached. He spoke about how God put the Sabbath in place for a reason, and that reason is for us to slow down. We just aren’t built to run around like lunatics all day every day.

At least, I’m definitely not.

When we returned from our Hawaiian vacation, things at work were cranking up for our busy season. Coming in early and leaving late became the rule, not the exception. It spilled into my church life. I started to feel overwhelmed. Feeling positive after church proved tough for me over the last few weeks. It didn’t have much to do with anyone or anything at church. I just felt like so much was going on that my brain couldn’t stop spinning.

I just wanted to go home to my own bed.

It all came to a head early last week. Bryan wanted to go to a Dodger game that I initially said yes to, but I felt exhausted. After having a bit of a meltdown, we stayed home. Bryan and I discussed that it’s OK for me to say no, whether that’s a Dodger game or heading up some project at church.

(I’m a middle child; I struggle with these things.)

My husband is wonderfully supportive and understanding. He knows when I need my space, the best thing to do is back away slowly, and then let me be by myself for a couple of hours.

As a result, we kept our schedule pretty light all week. On Friday and Saturday, we did a whole lot of nothing.

At church, I felt more relaxed and focused than I have in weeks. It’s funny how downtime every so often can make that much of a difference.

It’s like God knew what he was doing when he told us to rest. Every once in a while, don’t be afraid to say no. And go home to your own bed.

 

 

 

