Tags

, ,

Early on in life, I learned that making food for people translates something special.

My mother, grandmother and aunts cooked meals anytime someone at church had a baby/ major surgery/prolonged sickness/wedding shower/going away party/any life moment worth celebrating or consoling. My mom has cooked more chicken pot pie than a Marie Callender’s factory, let me tell you.

There are so many ways to show your generosity to others, but there is something so fundamental about cooking for someone. People often forget gifts they’ve received, but they don’t forget someone cooking for them. Somehow, more than almost anything else, it translates you thought someone was worth going the extra mile for.

For me, I needed something to translate to my co-workers: sorry-I-left-you-with-a-pile-of my-work-while-I-went-to Hawaii-for-a-week. They had to handle my work concerns so that my biggest concern could be finding a good Hawaiian Shaved Iced place in Kona.

(My husband and I were successful in that super-important endeavor, but this post isn’t about me.)

These scones are so simple and versatile. You can throw in raisins, chocolate chips, or just sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar, but it’s still the same dough. Even better, you can make the dough, cut them out, and freeze them. On the day you need them, toss them into the oven for 7 to 9 minutes and you have some warm, delicious scones with almost no effort.

I pulled the recipe from “How to Cook Everything” by Mark Bittman:

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose or cake flour

1 scant teaspoon of salt

4 teaspoons baking powder

2 tablespoons sugar

5 tablespoons cold butter

3 eggs

¾ cup of cream

1/3 cup raisins (optional, you can basically throw in what you want here)

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl or the food processor. (While we’re here, I don’t want wax poetic too long about food processors but, they make this dough and so many other recipes incredibly simple to put together. In the words of Woody from Toy Story, “if you don’t have one, get one!” Woody was talking about a moving buddy, but it is good advice for food processors too. He just didn’t mention it specifically at the time.)

Cut up butter and throw into food processor. Pulse until the flour has small beads of butter running through it. If not using a food processor, rub the dry ingredients and butter together to achieve the same result.

Combine eggs and cream, and add to the dry ingredients. Fold in the raisins or whatever other ingredients you want to throw in. Pulse until well combined. Lightly flour your work surface and knead no more than 10 times, according to Bittman.

Roll out and cut into whatever shapes you want (it’s a free country, no one will stop you!). If you are cooking immediately, beat an egg and add a little water. Brush the egg wash on top of the scones for a beautiful golden finish. Sprinkle with your leftover sugar and bake for 7-9 minutes.

If you aren’t baking these immediately, throw them in a plastic storage bag and, put them in the freezer. When you need them, throw the scones on a baking sheet, brush with egg wash, and you are good to go.

Thanking anyone and everyone has never been so simple. Or tasty.

 

 

