Tags

,

On the days Sunday-Saturday, I consume peanut butter at least once a day.

So, yeah, when I’m making something with peanut butter in it,  I would never pair it up with something unworthy. Something unworthy like…celery, let’s say. (one of my life rules: if peanut butter can’t save your taste, you don’t deserve to be saved.)

Chocolate, however, is oh so worthy.

The combination of peanut butter and chocolate is so inarguably awesome, all the other awesome food combinations of the world look up to it. Trust me. They do.

With a church event on the horizon that required I bring a side or dessert, I chose, in what is a surprise to absolutely no one, dessert.

Chocolate peanut butter bars, to be precise.

What is great about this recipe (which I found here)is that 90% of the ingredients probably live in your pantry at this very moment. That, and the recipe is fast, there’s no baking in involved, and it involves butter, sugar, peanut butter and chocolate.

What I’m trying to say is,  this recipe could solve all of your problems.

Ingredients:

2 ½ cups of graham cracker crumbs (basically, almost the entire box, crushed up)

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup butter, melted

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

2 ¾ cups confectioners sugar

Throw the graham crackers in your food processor, or, if you have some aggression that needs to be released in a way that won’t have legal ramifications, throw them all in a Ziploc bag and pulverize the sweet pieces of goodness with the bottom of a skillet.

Pour those into a bowl, and add the sugar, butter, and peanut butter.

It will look like this:

And, if you’re anything like me, your inclination will be to call it a day and eat that entire bowl.

For the purposes of this blog post, we’ll press on.

Push the crust into the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan.

Then, melt your chocolate in a double boiler over the stove or in the microwave.

This is where I tweaked the recipe slightly. I melted a cup of semisweet chocolate chips, and probably slightly less than a cup of a block of 70% bittersweet chocolate. That’s what I had lying around, so that’s what I used. I also threw in 1/8 of a teaspoon of instant espresso to intensify the chocolate flavor. You could probably go ¼ teaspoon but I erred on the side of caution. I’m a middle child. It’s what I do.

Once that’s all melted together, pour it on and spread the chocolate. Put it in the fridge for about five minutes, then pull out and cut up the squares. Throw it back in the fridge and chill until you’re ready to serve.

These basically taste like a ramped up Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, if you’re into that sort of thing.

I know I am.

