You know what they say: the best laid brownies of mice and Mandy…often go awry.

But the next (less well-known) line of that poem is: throw some vanilla ice cream on it, call it a brownie cobbler, and people will eat it.

(That poetry wasn’t exactly iambic pentameter…my apologies to my 11th grade honors British Literature teacher Mr. Kasdorf.)

A couple of weeks ago, I was daydreaming about my first post after Lent was over and I could have any dessert I wanted.

I knew what I wanted: 1. chocolate. 2. ice cream. Or, maybe it was: 1. ice cream. 2. chocolate.

You get the point.

After a conversation via twitter, I got this recipe suggestion from Scharffen Berger chocolate for a delicious, fudgy brownie recipe. I am certain the recipe wasn’t the problem, because Scharffen Berger chocolate is pretty legit (as you can see below) and my baking skills are not on that same level of legit-ness.

The brownies just didn’t set up right, for whatever reason. My job was bringing dessert to a gathering of our Bible study group last night. When I pulled them out of the oven, I started to panic.

My husband kept nibbling on the brownies and saying, “babe, it’s good. Just bring it.”

I thought about throwing it away, and then I remembered: uh, brownies are just chocolate. Was it a fudgy, sort of crumbly mess? Yes. Is there such a thing as a bad fudgy mess? No my friends. No.

To make a long story short, I told everyone it was more like a brownie cobbler. We brought some vanilla ice cream, and when we left the little shindig, I was heading home with an empty pan.

You can make these brownies from scratch too. Or, make them brownie cobbler. Some people prefer to be groundbreaking in that way.

Here are the ingredients:

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into cubes, plus more for the pan

8 ounces 70% bittersweet chocolate coarsely chopped

¾ cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar

¼ teaspoon of salt

2 large eggs

1/3 cup all purpose flour

(The recipe also called for 1/2 cup toasted walnut halves, but putting nuts in my brownies or cookies is against my religion. But you go ahead and do that if you feel the need.)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Melt the chocolate and butter in a bowl over a pan of gently simmering water. When it’s melted, remove from the heat.

Stir in the sugar and salt with a wooden spoon or rubber spatula, and then beat the eggs in the batter one at a time. Add in the flour and mix until the batter starts pulling away from the sides of bowl. Pour the batter in you pan, and throw it in the oven.

Now, this is where things went wrong for me. I greased my pan, put in the parchment paper, and greased the parchment paper as the recipe had suggested. I think maybe for my oven, I needed to go a smidge higher on the temperature, and maybe it would have set better. I also think the sugar I used wasn’t fine enough, so it was taking longer to melt into the batter.

In any event, if you are a better baker than me, it should take about 30-35 minutes to cook, and then let it cool.

Mine didn’t turn out exactly like brownies, but still turned out fudgy and delicious. I’m definitely going to try the recipe again.

You know what they say: practice makes perfect brownies.

