If I sound worn out but hopeful, you know why.

We are T minus three days until Lent is over and ice cream will be back in my life. I’m never letting it go again.

In truth, it hasn’t been completely horrible. Partially horrible, yes, but not completely.

This week, I made a sweet drink to carry me through the home stretch.

I have not been terribly creative with drinks, mostly because my husband reacts to a drop of caffeine. If he consumes any caffeine after about 2 p.m., you can guarantee he’ll be bright-eyed and bushy-tailed until 2 in the morning.

Yours truly, however, has been known to drink a cup of coffee at 10 pm and go to bed about an hour later.

I’m hard core like that.

So, my drink experimentation has been limited.

Until I thought of…Horchata.

I feel like Horchata should always have an exclamation point at the end of it, don’t you?

Let’s try that again.

Until I thought of…Horchata!

My husband almost always orders water when we’re out eating somewhere, unless that restaurant has Horchata (!). It’s hard for him to resist.

The unfortunate part of this rice drink is soaking time. Other than that, it’s about a 10 minute process.  The fortunate part is, well, it tastes awesome.

I used this recipe as my guideline, but I omitted the almond extract because I didn’t have any.

Throw a cup of long grain white rice and four cups of warm water into a blender. Turn it on and let the blender go for a minute or two.

Step 2: Pull the blender off its base and stick the pitcher in the refrigerator. (I like to challenge people with difficult cooking techniques. It’s who I am.) Let that soak overnight.

Step 3: Strain the rice mixture through a sieve to remove the rice solids.

Put the rice milk back in the blender, along with ½ milk, 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract, ½ teaspoon of cinnamon and ¼ cup of sugar.

Turn the blender back on for another minute or so, until it’s all well combined.

Put some ice in a cup, and pour the horchata.

It’s exclamation-point worthy.

