Don’t judge me too harshly.

I cheated on Lent.

Before you tar and feather me in a public square, just know my reason to cheat was not simply a lack of will power (although I could totally understand why that was your assumption).

And, if I can be real for a second here, I don’t feel all that bad about my indiscretion. You can’t feel bad about anything when you are eating this.

Look, if you can celebrate six months of marriage without tiramisu, good for you. I’m just not one of those people.

My husband and I savored every bite, but we knew it was back to the grind after it was over. It was only a moment, but a glorious moment.

We’ve only got 11 days to go.  Then, I plan on going on a week-long ice cream bender with my husband. I told my co-workers I plan on carrying a tub of ice cream wherever I go for (at least) a week.

But alas, I’m getting ahead of myself.

I will say that staying off sweets has forced me to find sweet options that don’t involve shoving chocolate chip cookies in my mouth. This, to put it mildly, was a first for me.

Finding such treats has been a pleasant surprise. As it turns out, there are a lot of options out there besides cookies and ice cream!

Today, I have a quick and easy sweet treat that could be my favorite so far, and I’d even go as far as saying it’s healthy. Look at me, turning a corner and making grown up choices!

Date and Almond Truffles.

First off, I very much heart Cooking Light magazine. And right on cue with my Lent dilemma of no sweets, they publish a recipe that is perfect. If you are looking to actually feel good about eating dessert, this is it. And, if you want to just throw stuff in a food processor and approximately 5.7 minutes later, have dessert, this is it.

Recipe

2 ½ cups whole pitted dates

2 cups slivered blanched almonds toasted

1 tb honey

1/8 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

Toast the almonds in a dry skillet. Make it so your almonds lay in a thin enough layer that they are all touching the skillet. Then turn the heat on to toast them. If I’ve learned anything from the Food Network, it’s that “your nose will tell you” when the nuts finish toasting.

Next, dump it all in the food processor.

Next, as you might have guessed, turn it on. After a minute or so, you’ll have a paste. Pull it out, and form into little balls.

I know I’ve asked a lot of you today, but I have to ask again: don’t judge me.

The last ingredient in this recipe is, theoretically, toasted coconut; and it should, theoretically, coat the outside of your truffles. But, uh…well…I don’t like coconut all that much.

But that doesn’t make me a bad person!

So instead, I decided to zest about a 1/2 teaspoon of orange zest and mix it with two teaspoons of sugar. I rolled the truffles in the sugar/orange zest mixture, and as a result, became very happy with my life choices (such as avoiding coconut).

These truffles give you sweet, salty, cinnamon-y, and nutty little nugget of happiness. As if you need anything else in life.

(Except for tiramisu.)

 

