At this point, it’s no secret that ice cream and I share a special relationship.

It’s not something you find everyday.

So, while I’m on this journey of giving up sweets for Lent, my isolation from ice cream gives me the most pain. Truly, a life without ice cream isn’t really a life worth living. But, alas, I carry on.

Despite that pain (and not being irrational about it) I have found something that will at least hold me over until Easter.

Parfaits.

The awesomeness of parfaits can be summed up only by the esteemed words of Donkey from the movie Shrek:

You know what ELSE everybody likes? Parfaits! Have you ever met a person, when you say, ‘Let’s get some parfait’ and they say, ‘no, I don’t like no parfait’? Parfaits are delicious!”

That’s Donkey spitting some pure truth right there.

Did you know that parfait means “perfect” in French? I don’t know French, so I think I’ll start calling these concoctions Perfecto.

In doing my 10 minutes of research (I’m nothing if not thorough) I found that a French parfait is basically made of some cream and some form of a sugary syrup. That sounds more Perfecto to me than what we Americans think of as a parfait, but sadly, that would definitely be classified as a sweet.

For my parfait, I used vanilla yogurt (non-fat of course! We don’t mess around  here ),  strawberries and blueberries. But then, I saw this and I knew the only thing I was missing to make this Perfecto.

Toasted oats in honey.

While I was toasting the oats in the oven, a miraculous idea came to me.

Add some orange zest to the honey.

Mandy, you are a genius!

My inner monologue does not see humility as a priority.

After I mixed the honey and the orange zest together and tried it, I started contemplating if I could put this on everything. The smell is enough to send you to your happy place.

But stay focused. You have work to do. Set the glorious honey-orange zest mixture aside and  start toasting the 1/3 cup of oats in the oven at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Then put together your parfait. Do a layer of yogurt, followed by a layer a fruit and repeat as so desired. Or just throw the yogurt in a cup and pile the fruit on top. As you can see by my presentation in my photo, no one will judge you here.

Pull the oats out of the oven, toss the honey on there, and put the oats on top of your parfait.

Perfecto.

 

