Tags

, , , ,

No matter what your political or religious views are, we can all agree on the general awesomeness of holidays.

As I’ve gotten older, my appreciation for holidays grows exponentially. Like, I want to skip up and down the street and say to people, “I can do whatever I want today! I’m the boss of me today!” kind of appreciation.

I’ve still got a few issues to sort out.

So today, as we give a shout out to George Washington—who, after all, paved the way for us to have life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness—I’m going to enjoy the day by going on a little adventure in Los Angeles with my husband.

But before I do that, I thought I’d post this gluten free bread recipe I tried yesterday.

I may end up liking gluten free bread baking more than the real thing; it’s a little less involved, because you just aren’t going to get the rise you do when you are making bread regular bread.

The difference with gluten free baking though, is you have to be a Flour Ninja.

See what I mean? Flour Ninja.

I tried this recipe from Gluten Free Girl’s first book, How I Found Food that Loves Me Back and How You Can Too. I read the book while Bryan and I were in Europe in November/December, eating to-die for bread but preparing to go gluten free once we got home.

The Gluten Free Girl blog gives me great ideas and guidance for this life change for Bryan and me, and her blog makes me feel like mediocre photo taker. But that’s probably more my fault. :)

My first attempt at gluten free bread making brought about a delicious, although dense loaf of bread. My husband really liked it, so we’re in!

Crusty Sorghum Bread, by Gluten Free Girl (here’s a similar recipe on her site )

2 teaspoons active dry yeast

1 teaspoon sugar

½ cup warm water

1½ cups sorghum flour

½ cup brown rice flour

½ cup sweet rice flour

½ cup tapioca flour

½ cup potato starch

2 tablespoons flaxseed meal

1 teaspoon xanthan gum

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

2 eggs

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

Club soda at room temperature

Combine yeast, sugar and warm water in a bowl. Let sit for about 15 minutes.

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees F.

Put all the dry ingredients (sorghum flour through salt) in a bowl and mix well. Add the yeast mixture and mix until just combined. Throw in the apple cider vinegar, then the eggs and then the olive oil.

(You could do this with a stand mixer or by hand…whatever you’ve got at home).

Then add in club soda, a little at a time, until the dough comes together. Be careful not to put in too much and make it watery.

Next, if you’re cool and have a stand mixer, attach the dough hook and let it knead the bread for 5 minutes. If you’re not cool, like me, get that lump of dough out and go to work on a gluten-free-floured surface for 10 minutes. Put dough back into bowl.

Turn off the oven and put your bowl into the oven, covered by a damp towel. Let your dough sit in the oven for an hour. Take it out and leave on the counter for an additional 30 minutes. After you pull the bowl out of the oven, crank up your oven to 500 degrees F and put a cast iron skillet or Dutch oven in your oven. Let it sit in there for 30 minutes to heat up.

Once the 30 minutes has passed, pull out your Dutch oven, place your lump of dough inside. Cover with the lid and place in the oven for another 30 minutes.

After the 30 minutes is done, pull it out and remove the lid. Allow to cool for 10 minutes, then cut into it and go to town.

Warm, flavorful gluten free bread. It is possible. And oh-so good.

